How long does it take to cook a pork shoulder roast?

Preheat oven to 425. Set the meat on a rack in a roasting pan. Roast for 20 minutes & reduce the heat to 325 degrees. Continue to cook until a thermometer inserted into the shoulder reads 185 degrees, about 4 hours. Remove the pork from oven & let stand until cool enough to handle, about 30 minutes.