Who invented the group hug?

Wednesday is National Hug Day because March 31 is the birthday of the late, great Italian-American Leo Buscaglia, aka Dr. Love. The man who all but invented the group hug. Throughout the 1980s, you almost couldn't watch a public television station, such as WTTW, without seeing Buscaglia.