Why is water flavorless?

Water is not flavourless. The flavour of water changes dramatically depending on the source: ground water is dustier tasting than spring water, which tastes fresh and even a bit sparkly. Dissolved minerals can change water flavour. Even a small amount of sulfur is easily tasted, same with potash.