What makes kosher salt kosher?

The main difference between regular salt and kosher salt is the structure of the flakes. Chefs find that kosher salt due to its large flake size is easier to pick up with your fingers and spread over food. Kosher salt is less likely to contain additives like anti-caking agents and iodine.