What is a derrico storm?

A derecho is a widespread, long-lived wind storm moving with a band of rapidly moving showers or thunderstorms. Derechos can cause damage on the same scale as a tornado, but is usually focused in one direction, leaving a relatively straight swath of destruction in its wake.