What is mercurachrome?

Mercurochrome is an antiseptic for treatment of burns, scratches and minor wounds. Mercurochrome contains mercury and chrome. The FDA banned over-the-counter Mercurochrome in 1998 due to possible mercury toxicity being absorbed through the skin. However, it is still used in some countries.