Why is spider-man called spider-man?

the story is that a student was bitten by a radioactive spider thus giving him spider abilities.

---

American teenager Peter Parker, a poor sickly orphan, is bitten by a radioactive spider. As a result of the bite, he gains superhuman strength, speed, and agility, along with the ability to cling to walls, turning him into Spider-Man.