Where does the saying when in rome come from?

The origin of the idiom 'When in Rome, do as the Romans do' was first seen in print in 1777, in Interesting Letters of Pope Clement XIV. This use suggests that the idiom was already well-known, and variations of it can be seen in examples dating from as early as the late 1500s.