What's the difference between a bee and a hornet?

A bee collects pollen for the hive to feed potential offspring while a hornet basically collects sweet material and wood to make a paperlike hive with numerous layers to protect the colony. Hornets will rob honey bee hives to steal honey and larvae to feed their potential offspring.