Is corn a g. m. o.?

Corn is a hybrid of a very old plant, derived thousands of years ago in Central America and the deserts of southern North America. Some varieties of corn have been genetically modified to be resistant to pesticides and herbicides, to make farming the crop easier, but only a few.