When was the vatican built?

The Constantine basilica was built in 326 over what was believed to be the tomb of Saint Peter. A palace was constructed in the 5th century during the papacy of Pope Symmachus. Between 318 and 322 C.E. the construction of the first church - St. Old Peter's Basilica - began.