What was the u. s. population during the civil war?

The population of the Union was 18.5 million. In the Confederacy, the population was listed as 5.5 million free and 3.5 million enslaved. In the Border States there were 2.5 million free inhabitants and 500,000 enslaved people. In total, the population was an estimated 30.5 million people.