What's an a. c. joint?

The AC joint is the acromio clavicular joint, just above the shoulder joint. Most minor and major AC joint dislocations do not cause any symptoms apart form a noticeable swelling. Arthritis in this joint in later life can cause pain when raising the arm away form the body.