How fast is the sound barrier?

The speed at which you break the sound barrier depends on many conditions, including weather and altitude. It’s approximately 770 mph or 1,239 kmh at sea level.

---

The speed at which sound travels is known as the sound barrier. The speed of a sound wave actually varies with temperature and air density, increasing about 0.6 m/s for every Centigrade degree temperature increase. At 68° F the speed of sound is about 343 m/s or 767 mph at sea level.