What are the point of mosquitoes?

Mosquitoes are a major food source for numerous food chains, and eliminating them completely could cause birds, insects, fish and other animals to starve and or die off.

---

While they can seem pointless and purely irritating to us humans, mosquitoes do play a substantial role in the ecosystem. Mosquitoes form an important source of biomass in the food chain—serving as food for fish as larvae and for birds, bats and frogs as adult flies