Who put the alphabet in alphabetical order?

Our alphabet can be traced all the way back to ancient Egypt, where foreign workers developed alphabetic lettering while the Egyptians themselves were still using hieroglyphics. This first alphabet was adapted by the Phoenicians, whose Mediterranean civilization thrived from 1500 to 300 BC.