What is the coolidge effect?

The Coolidge effect is the progressive decline in a male's propensity to mate with the same female combined with a heightened sexual interest in new females.

---

The Coolidge effect is a biological phenomenon seen in animals, whereby males exhibit renewed sexual interest whenever a new female is introduced to have sex with, even after cessation of sex with prior but still available sexual partners. To a lesser extent, the effect is also seen among females