Why do they call corned beef corned beef?

The term “corned beef” dates to around1660. Originally the word “corn” came from the Germanic word “kurnam,” meaning “small seed.” In the 17th century, salted beef started taking on the name “corned beef” in some parts of England because of the large “kernels” of rock salt used to preserve it.