What's the difference between shallots and onions?

Shallots are small, have a tapered shape and a milder sweeter taste that tend to lose their flavor while cooking whereas onions are larger, more round and have a bolder tangy taste. Their flavor strengths need to be considered when swapping one for the other in a recipe.