How likely is a plane to crash?

Statistically speaking, flying on a commercial airliner is the safest form of transport there is, according to the US National Safety Council. There are a range of estimates out there, but based on its analysis of US Census data, it puts the odds of dying as a plane passenger at 1 in 205,552.