Where does sonic the hedgehog come from?

Sonic the Hedgehog was originally written as a hedgehog from the small, fictitious town of Hardly, Nebraska. Way back in the early '90s, Sega was competing heavily with Nintendo. Nintendo had Mario. Sega wanted its own hero