What year was gymnastics invented?

Modern gymnastics began in Germany in the 1800s. Experts credit two physical education experts: Johann Freidrich GutsMuths and Friedrich Ludwig Jahn. Men competed in gymnastics as early as the first modern Olympic games in 1896. Women first competed in Olympic gymnastics in Amsterdam in 1928.