What does the name yosemite mean?

The name Yosemite itself is from the Indian word “uzumate,” which meant grizzly bear. The Indian tribe that lived in the Valley were called Yosemites by other Indian tribes because they lived in a place where grizzly bears were common and they were reportedly skilled at killing the bears.