How do you cut down a tree in animal crossing?

In order to chop down trees, players will need the Axe, not to be confused with the Flimsy Axe or the Stone Axe. The only tool that will chop down trees is just the Axe. To get this, players must buy the Pretty Good Tool Recipes for 3,000 Nook Miles.