What does it mean when a cat is needing?

Kneading is when a cat pushes their front paws up and down on a surface, alternating between left and right. Cats often knead while being petted, or when snuggling into a napping spot. Your cat may also knead on your lap to show her love and contentment, and then settle in for a pat or nap.