How many cards do you start with in magic the gathering?

7 cards to start. If your opening hand is not to your liking, you can shuffle them back in and get another 7, but you have to put one of the 7 on the bottom of your library. You can repeat this process, but each time you need to put cards equal to the number of times you mulligan on the bottom.