What happened to acid rain?

Acid rain is rain that is unusually acidic, meaning that it has elevated levels of hydrogen ions (low pH). Governments, including those in Europe and North America, have made efforts to reduce the release of sulfur dioxide and nitrogen oxide through air pollution regulations, with positive results.