Where are the aztecs from?

The origin of the Aztec people has them migrating from a homeland called Aztlan to what would become modern-day Mexico. While it is not clear where Aztlan was, a number of scholars believe that the Mexica, as the Aztec referred to themselves, migrated south to central Mexico in the 13th century