Why is glass called glass?

The word "glass" is derived from the Old English word "glæs," which was used to describe any type of transparent or translucent material. Over time, the word has come to specifically refer to a type of solid material that is transparent or translucent.

---

The word "glass" can be traced back to the Old English word glæs which is of Germanic origin and related to the Dutch word glas and German word Glas.