What does gemma mean?

Gemma is an Italian female name, of Latin origin and is derived from Hebrew girl name Jemma (Little dove). In the Old Testament, Jemma or Jemima was one of the three beautiful daughters of Job (the other two were Keziah and Keren)., meaning "gem", "precious stone" or "dove".