What are pig tails?

Pig tail, also referred to as a pork tail, are the tails from a pig used as a food ingredient in many cuisines. Pig tails may also refer to a single braid of hair, but is more frequently used in the plural ("pigtails") to refer to twin braids on opposite sides of the head.