How does a chicken produce an egg?

A chicken produces a egg when an ova (egg yolk) moves out of the ovary and into the oviduct, moving through an area called the magnum where egg white protein is added to it. It then moves through the isthmus where shell membrane fibres are produced and enters the shell gland where the shell forms.