Does ground coffee ever go bad?

For taste, your best bet is to store ground coffee in an airtight container somewhere cool, dry, and dark. This way it can be used for a few months past its expiration date and still taste good. Unless it’s gone moldy, you shouldn’t get sick from expired coffee but it will not taste good.