Do tomatoes have a lot of sugar in them?

Tomatoes may taste sweet, but they’re not a high-sugar food. One cup of sliced tomatoes has 30 calories, 7 grams of carbs, 4 grams of sugar and 2 grams of fiber. The amount of sugar in 1 cup of sliced tomatoes translates into about 1 teaspoon of sugar.