What's the highest degree of murder?

Generally, the degrees of murder include first-degree murder and second-degree murder. First-degree murder and felony murder are the most serious, followed by second-degree murder, voluntary manslaughter, and involuntary manslaughter.

---

First degree murder. This involves not only the intent to kill a specific person or persons, but having planned it in advance - which is what the law means by, malice aforethought.