Who is little red?

There once was a girl whose Grandmother made her a red cloak, thus she became known as Little Red Riding Hood. One day, when her Grandmother was ill, Little Red went to visit her and take her a basket of goodies. Her mother tells her to stay on the path and not to speak to strangers.