What is star trek day?

Star Trek day is a day designated by fans of the franchise to commemorate the “birth” of the series—the premiere of the first televised episode of Star Trek, in September 8th, 1966. Since that time, the franchise has grown to 9 television series and 13 feature films, stretching over 550 hours!