How does a elephant make noise?

Elephants produce several sounds, usually through the larynx, though some may be modified by the trunk. Perhaps the most well known call is the trumpet which is made by blowing through the trunk. Trumpeting is made during excitement, distress or aggression.

---

Elephants are capable of making a variety of sounds to communicate with other elephants and to express their emotions. Some of the most common noises made by elephants include trumpets, rumbles, and roars. In addition to these noises, elephants also communicate through body language and touch.