How long does it take to defrost chicken in the fridge?

Thawing chicken in the fridge is the best and safest way to defrost it, but it requires about a day of planning ahead, so if you need a faster solution, skip ahead. The day before you plan to cook your chicken, transfer it from the freezer to the fridge to let it thaw slowly, for at least 24 hours.