How rare is the mewtwo pokemon card?

Mewtwo was one of rarest Pokémon you could capture in the games, and that fact made the critter's card worth a whole lot. While Mewtwo was massively coveted in 1999, the base set shadowless first edition holographic card is exceedingly rare today.