How is baking soda made?

Baking soda is classified as an acid salt. it is made by combining an acid and a base. In the US, CO2 and ammonia are passed into a concentrated solution of sodium chloride. Crude baking soda precipitates. It's then heated to form soda ash, which is refined into pure baking soda.