What's in a liquid?

A liquid is made up of tiny vibrating particles of matter, such as atoms, held together by intermolecular bonds. Like a gas, a liquid is able to flow & take the shape of a container. Most liquids resist compression, although others can be compressed. Water is by far, the most common liquid on Earth.