Is the word president capitalized?

Yes, since it is a title it is capitalized

---

The word president is capitalised when it is used as a title of an actual person, as in Mr. President, referring to the head of the USA. The word is NOT capitalised when it is referring to a role such as, "When you become president, you will be in charge of the meeting."