Does toothpaste ever expire?

The simple answer is yes. Expired toothpaste doesn't harm you but it does lessen in its ability to prevent cavities and tooth decay. To ensure you get all the benefits of brushing, it's best to use toothpaste that hasn't reached its expiration date.