When was the first pool table made?

The first pool tables appeared in the 1600s when an outdoor game similar to croquet moved indoors. The modern pool table evolved over time and emerged by 1850. Standard table dimensions of 2:1 were set in the 1700s. Slate replaced wooden tops by 1835 and flat walls became cushioned rails by 1845.