What was the first fish in space?

Mummichogs have one more achievement to their name. In 1973 they became the first fish in space. Scientists on the Skylab space station showed that they could learn to swim in zero gravity.

---

The first fish to be sent into space was a Medaka fish, a species of rice fish native to East Asia. In 1991, Japanese researchers sent a group of Medaka fish into space as part of a research experiment to study the effects of microgravity on the development and behavior of fish.