Why is baloney pronounced baloney?

In Italian, the name Bologna is pronounced boˈloɲɲa, where the sound ɲ is the palatal nasal sound. Americans are generally unable to produce this sound, and so in the US the pronunciation of bologna has become adulterated to "baloney".