Do jumping spiders bite?

Jumping spiders can be helpful, since they prey on other insects. While they can bite, the jumping spider bite is not poisonous. If threatened, they tend to flee, rather than bite. But their rapid movements and ability to jump long distances can be alarming, especially to anyone with arachnophobia.