Where is vanilla flavoring from?

Vanilla extracts and flavouring comes from vanilla beans. In Canada, this is the only source of vanilla extract products permitted by Food and Drug Regulations. While vanilla flavouring can also be made from the anal glands of beavers, this is very rare with only extremely small quantities produced.