What was the first fan?

Likely palm leaves. But around 180 A.D. The Chinese made a mechanized fan that was man powered. In 1882 – Schuyler Skaats Wheeler applied DC current electricity to a fan to make it turn without human or horsepower. The first electric fan consisted of just two blades without a protective cage.